Current state residents must obtain an Arizona car registration to keep in accordance with state registration laws and regulations if they have recently purchased a new motor vehicle. DMV car registrations allow motorists to operate their vehicles on state roads and highways. When applying for a motor vehicle registration through the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), licensees must meet certain MVD requirements. New state residents must also make sure to apply for AZ vehicle registration after their move. Motorists will need to visit a local AZ MVD office or authorized provider to obtain new car registration.
Motorists are required to get their AZ motor vehicle registration in due time, otherwise they will be in violation of the state motor vehicle laws. Car registrations may be obtained for a period of one, two or five years, depending on eligibility requirements. You will be issued a one-year auto registration provided your vehicle is required to undergo an emissions testing on an annual basis. Two- and five-year Arizona DMV car registrations can only be purchased if vehicles do not require an emissions test within those time frames. Vehicle owners may submit their AZ new auto registration request in person at a nearby MVD location. Prior to your visit, be sure to have the following documents on hand:
Once in the office, you will need to submit the necessary documentation, which generally includes the following items:
When getting vehicle registrations in AZ , licensees may also be required to have their cars inspected. If you are unable to collect the required car registry paperwork within the MVD-imposed time period, you may apply for a 90-day temporary registration. This document allows drivers to operate their motor vehicles until full documentation is obtained. A mandatory fee will also apply for this type of registry card.
Note: Emissions testing laws and programs are administered by the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality.
New residents must also purchase an Arizona motor vehicle registration as soon as they establish state residency. The steps to get an auto registration for drivers who have recently moved to the state are similar to those pertaining to current residents. Apart from submitting the usual paperwork, however, applicants will also be obliged to provide additional documents. To request an Arizona DMV auto registration, you must personally go to a nearby MVD location. Before applying for their car registration, new state residents must purchase a mandatory insurance policy. The minimum coverage in the state currently amounts to $10,000 for property damage, $15,000 for bodily injury of one person and $30,000 for bodily injury of two or more people. The process of getting vehicle registry cards may also include an emissions testing, as well as a Level I car inspection, in addition to the insurance requirements.
To complete the AZ car registration procedure, licensees will then be asked to satisfy the following conditions:
New Arizona residents are also eligible to obtain a temporary motor vehicle registration, in case they are not able to present all of the applicable documentation in due time.
Note: Contact the Arizona MVD before requesting a vehicle registration to check whether any special requirements apply to your case.